Compiling LaTex on the Fly

I Stumbled upon the problem of creating images or PDFs from LaTex snippets.

I usually save my work in Evernote to make it easilly accessible, so I wanted a solution to work with Evernote.

One way to go is via Eat tags: https://www.evernote.com/shard/s216/sh/f2b5d32d-7941-4473-bb94-21fbd55ae117/6f7b872883ab019ba763de2c9cd0ac3f

The other one is using LaTexIt (available on Mac as far as I know):

“LaTeXiT which is included in MacTeX can convert a text string to image (png, jpeg, pdf, maybe others), and a shortcut can be set in OS X in keyboard preferences ->shortcuts -> services, so that the key combination Cmd+Option+Shift+L is a global hotkey that take selected (LaTeX) text string, generates an image and inserts it in place of the text. The original LaTeX code I put in as the image name in Evernote (right click -> name attachement), so that if I need to modify the equation, I can do so without typing up the whole code again.”

 

Here is where I found both solutions(in the comment sections): http://www.astrobetter.com/evernote-for-scientists/

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

